C4 Forums | Control4

Control4 vs URC (re: speed, software availability, etc)

I've been using URC for a few years in my house both with Complete Control and now with Total Control, but I've been thinking about switching over to Control4.

Can anybody give me some comparisons between the two systems? 

I've written some software that tests the button latency on the URC Total Control remotes and controllers and it's fairly high (~120ms).  For most users this isn't a problem, but I am hoping to find a system that can send button presses nearly as fast as a keyboard (~16ms).  It really helps with pressing direction buttons rapidly, etc.

Also, can dealers provide you the software (or is it available elsewhere...?) or is it completely off limits?  I've been a software developer for over 10 years (.NET / C# and C++) and have programmed an entire multi-zone house plus I've wrote software for microcontrollers (Arduino, atmega32u4) to create IP-to-USB HID devices, Bluetooth-to-USB, etc.  I only mention this because I understand why URC, C4, and others do not want to provide software to general end-users but hopefully people with reasonable programming experience should hopefully be allowed to DIY.