C4 Forums | Control4

control4 switch questions?

gooch

hello everyone. my name is gooch and im an electrician. today i was doing an electrical trim in a house and the low voltage guy showed up and told me that they were going to use control4 switches throughout the house. this was the first time i had ever come into contact with or even heard about these switches. the low volt guy said that he knows nothing about line voltage and told me i had to be the one to install them for that reason, but he had no instructions or information about how to hook them up. i think that this whole control4 system is pretty cool and would like to learn alot more about it but for now i am mainly concerned about these switches. on the switch it has a tag that says if its hooked up wrong and it will damage the switch so i was hoping someone could answer a few questions or point me in the right direction or tell me if im way off base.

most of the lights that the control4 switches control are on 3-ways. the low volt guy had two different types of switches, regular switches and dimmers. he told me that both of these could be used for a 3-way. the regular switch has four wires coming out of it: black, red, white, and green. this doesnt seem to be enough wires to hook up to a 3-way switch. i would imagine the black would be the hot, red would be the switch leg, the white would be the neutral, green for ground. so my question is:

1.) can i hook this switch up somehow to make it work as a 3-way, or do i need an actual 3-way switch to make this work?

2.)and if so do i need a control4 switch and both ends of the 3-way?

i have questions about the dimmers also. the dimmer has the same wires coming out of it except it has one extra wire which is blue. my questions about this is:

1.) how do i hook this up?

2.) can these dimmers be used and 3-ways also and how would i hook that up?